Disable my Ad-Blocker? No way, man

I found an interesting article on via Kaya Thomas @kthomas901 about how a developer integrated Slack into his family’s daily life.

Of course I was interested in this, but was appalled that when I visited the Forbes site, they had the nerve to ask me to disable my Ad Blocker. I get it, they gotta make money and full disclosure, a good friend of mine works at OpenX, the provider of this ad platform that loathes Ad Block Plus.

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 12.27.18 PM
No way, man. I’m good

The Fix

Go into your console by right clicking and choosing “Inspect Element”. This will pop up.Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 12.29.54 PM

The URL you want to copy is the one that says set page url http://….. This is the link to the actual article.

Go into Incognito Mode in Chrome, or Private Browsing in Safari and paste the link in address bar. You’ll receive a message that you need to disable your Ad Block, but DON’T DO IT! DON’T DISABLE YOUR AD BLOCKER. Instead, click continue, and voila! You’re in.

I am fairly certain you can use this with all sites that ask you to disable it. Sorry to my homie that works at OpenX. I know you got a job to do, but so do I.

EDIT:

I realize you can also do a curl request in your terminal, but I would never recommend it cuz it looks like garbage

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 12.34.11 PM
Le’ barf

Leave a Reply

